Berger Names Senate Appropriations Committees


Senate Leader Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) on Wednesday announced the third and final set of appointments to Senate standing committees for the 2017-2018 biennium:


Appropriations/Base Budget:

Chairs: Harry Brown, Brent Jackson, Kathy Harrington

Members: Chad Barefoot, Andrew Brock, Angela Bryant, Jay Chaudhuri, Rick Gunn, Jeff Jackson, Paul Lowe, Louis Pate, Bill Rabon, Shirley Randleman, Gladys Robinson, Norman Sanderson, Jeff Tarte, Jerry Tillman, Tommy Tucker


Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Natural and Economic Resources:

Chairs: Bill Cook, Rick Gunn, Trudy Wade

Members: Andrew Brock, Angela Bryant, Ben Clark, Paul Newton


Appropriations Subcommittee on Education/Higher Education:

Chairs: Chad Barefoot, David Curtis, Michael Lee

Members: Deanna Ballard, Erica Smith-Ingram, Jerry Tillman, Joyce Waddell


Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government and Information Technology:

Chairs: John Alexander, Tamara Barringer, Jeff Tarte

Members: Chuck Edwards, Terry Van Duyn, Mike Woodard


Appropriations Subcommittee on Health and Human Services:

Chairs: Ralph Hise, Joyce Krawiec, Louis Pate

Members: Dan Bishop, Paul Lowe, Floyd McKissick, Gladys Robinson, Tommy Tucker


Appropriations Subcommittee on Justice and Public Safety:

Chairs: Warren Daniel, Shirley Randleman, Norman Sanderson

Members: Dan Blue, Danny Britt, Valerie Foushee


Appropriations Subcommittee on Pensions, Compensation and Benefits:

Chairs: Ron Rabin, Bill Rabon, Andy Wells

Members: Jay Chaudhuri, Rick Horner, Jeff Jackson


Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation:

Chairs: Jim Davis, Tom McInnis, Wesley Meredith

Members: Don Davis, Cathy Dunn, Joel Ford


“Since 2011, our Senate appropriations committees have played a vital role in crafting fiscally responsible budgets focused on disciplined spending, saving for the future and yielding budget surpluses that we can give back to North Carolina families,” said Berger. “I am confident these senators will work together to pass another balanced budget that continues investing in core priorities while keeping our fiscal house in order.”