Berger Appoints Members to Senate Committees on Education, Finance, Health Care, State and Local Government, Transportation


Senate Leader Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) on Tuesday announced the following appointments to Senate standing committees for the 2017-2018 biennium:


Education/Higher Education:

Chairs: Chad Barefoot, David Curtis, Michael Lee

Members: Deanna Ballard, Tamara Barringer, Bill Cook, Don Davis, Cathy Dunn, Chuck Edwards, Valerie Foushee, Joyce Krawiec, Louis Pate, Ron Rabin, Erica Smith-Ingram, Jeff Tarte, Jerry Tillman, Joyce Waddell



Chairs: Andrew Brock, Jerry Tillman, Tommy Tucker

Members: Chad Barefoot, Tamara Barringer, Dan Bishop, Harry Brown, Dan Blue, Ben Clark, David Curtis, Warren Daniel, Don Davis, Jim Davis, Kathy Harrington, Ralph Hise, Brent Jackson, Joyce Krawiec, Floyd McKissick, Bill Rabon, Gladys Robinson, Joyce Waddell, Trudy Wade, Andy Wells


Health Care:

Chairs: Ralph Hise, Joyce Krawiec, Louis Pate

Members: Deanna Ballard, Dan Bishop, David Curtis, Don Davis, Jim Davis, Chuck Edwards, Valerie Foushee, Kathy Harrington, Rick Horner, Paul Lowe, Paul Newton, Gladys Robinson, Jeff Tarte, Tommy Tucker, Andy Wells


State and Local Government:

Chairs: John Alexander, Ron Rabin, Jeff Tarte

Members: Deanna Ballard, Tamara Barringer, Danny Britt, Jay Chaudhuri, Bill Cook, David Curtis, Chuck Edwards, Valerie Foushee, Rick Horner, Jeff Jackson, Michael Lee, Tom McInnis, Norman Sanderson, Mike Woodard



Chairs: Jim Davis, Tom McInnis

Members: John Alexander, Deanna Ballard, Danny Britt, Warren Daniel, Cathy Dunn, Joel Ford, Rick Gunn, Kathy Harrington, Joyce Krawiec, Wesley Meredith, Bill Rabon, Shirley Randleman, Terry Van Duyn, Joyce Waddell, Mike Woodard


“The North Carolina Senate is fortunate to have members committed to good government with a focus on reducing the tax burden on working families, improving our state’s business climate and strengthening public education,” said Berger. “I appreciate the willingness of senators in both parties to work hard in these committees on policies that will help our state continue to thrive.”


Remaining committee assignments will be announced in the coming days.